Search The Blues Historian Website With Google


Send Me Your Blues News

Contact me at

Link Exchange

If you have a website, and would like to exchange links just email me at the above address.

The Iowa Blues Showcase is on the AIR

Download the latest podcast on ITUNES

Friday, November 7, 2008

Blues Blast Music Awards Winners

From Illinois Blues

Blues Blast Music Award Winners Announced At Buddy Guy’s Legends

The winners of the 2008 Blues Blast Music Awards were announced Sunday
November 2nd, 2008 at a Gala Blues celebration at Buddy Guy’s Legends in
Chicago, IL.

The award winners are:
Best Contemporary Blues Recording - Holmes Brothers - State Of Grace
Best Traditional Blues Recording - Lurrie Bell - Lets Talk About Love
Best New Artist Debut Recording - John Németh - Magic Touch
Best Blues Song - Nick Moss - Mistakes from the Past
Best Male Artist - Buddy Guy
Best Female Artist - Koko Taylor
Best Blues Band - Magic Slim & The Teardrops
Sean Costello Rising Star Award - John Németh

Blues Blast Magazine also awarded their first ever Lifetime Achievement Award
to Delta Blues Legend David ”Honeyboy” Edwards. The Lifetime Achievement Award
recognizes significant contributions and a lifetime body of work in the field
of Blues music.

The ceremonies included performances by Magic Slim & the Teardrops,
Lurrie Bell, Matthew Skollar, Nick Moss, Gerry Hundt , John Németh,
The Kilborn Alley Blues Band, Dave Riley, Bob Corritore, Eden Brent,
Sugar Ray Norcia, Teeny Tucker, Gina Sicilia, Dave Gross,
Tim "Too Slim" Langford and others.

The winners were chosen by the 11,000 Blues Blast magazine readers from all
50 states and more than 40 countries voting at the website.
There was no cost or fees to be eligible to vote. These awards truly represent
the Peoples Choice for the best in Blues music.

Celebrity award presenters included Eric Steiner, president of the Washington
Blues Society, Linda Cain Publisher of, Chicago Blues
woman Deb Seitz, August “Lordy” Lord, owner of , Blues
Writer James “Skyy Dobro” Walker, Blues Songwriter, Musician, DJ and
Journalist, Ben Cox, Matt Eimer, Promoter of the Simply The Blues Fest in
Fort Madison, Iowa and Kate Moss Publicity director for Blue Bella Records.

The sponsors of the Blues Blast Music Awards were WGL Blues 24/7 a FREE
online Blues Music stream and Podcast from WGLT radio, a public radio station
in Normal, Illinois ( and The Chicago Blues Guide

Blues Blast magazine is a FREE weekly Blues “web-zine” available from The Blues Blast Music Awards recognize the best of today’s
Blues music.

A group of Blues industry professionals including artists, music writers,
radio D.J.’s, artist managers and festival promoters selected five nominees in
each of the eight categories. Voting for the awards took place during July and
August online at the website. More than 2000 votes were cast
and the awards ceremonies were a celebration of the artists and the music that
represent the best in Blues music today.

For further information contact Bob Kieser at

No comments: