Search The Blues Historian Website With Google


Send Me Your Blues News

Contact me at

Link Exchange

If you have a website, and would like to exchange links just email me at the above address.

The Iowa Blues Showcase is on the AIR

Download the latest podcast on ITUNES

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

2009 Blues Blast Music Awards

Press Release - The 2009 Blues Blast Music Award October 29th 2009 at Buddy Guy’s Legends. Who: Blues Blast Magazine from What: 2009 Blues Blast Music Awards Ceremony Where: Buddy Guy’s Legends 754 S. Wabash Ave. Chicago, IL 60605 (312)-427-1190 When: Thursday October 24th, 2009, 7:00pm (Doors open at 6:00pm) Tickets are just $25 and will be available online at starting August 31st. Contact Information: Bob Kieser (309) 267-4425 or Tickets are now on sale for the 2009 Blues Blast Music Award Ceremonies held at the famous Buddy Guy’s Legends. The awards show will include confirmed appearances by nominees Kenny Neal, Nick Moss & The Flip Tops, Eden Brent, Albert Castiglia, John Primer, Shirley Johnson, Kilborn Alley Blues Band, Chris James & Patrick Rynn w/ Bob Corritore, Robin Rogers, The Insomniacs, Dave Herrero, Guy King, and Dave Gross. There may be a few surprise appearances by other nominees too. The 2009 Blues Blast Music Awards are brought to you by Blues Blast Magazine. Blues Blast Magazine is the fastest growing FREE weekly internet Blues magazine read by over 13,000 Blues fans in all 50 states and in more than 60 countries. In Early May, a group of Blues music industry professionals including music writers, managers, musicians, Blues Blast Magazine staff and others nominated the best of 2009 Blues in eight categories: Best Contemporary Blues Recording, Best Traditional Blues Recording, Best Blues Song, Best Blues Band, Best Male Blues Artist, Best Female Blues Artist, Best New Artist Debut Recording and The Sean Costello Rising Star Award. And the people have spoken! In July and August Blues Blast magazine readers voted for their favorites on our website. These awards truly are the “Peoples Choice” without any filter. The voting was absolutely FREE and more than 3500 fans from all over the globe voted their choices. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on October 29th at Buddy Guy’s Legends. The complete list of nominees is listed below at the end of this press release. This event promises to be a great show with music by some of the best established and new contemporary Blues artists. The show will likely sell out so get your tickets as soon as possible. Sponsorships OpportunitiesSponsorships opportunities are available and several sponsor packages at various levels are available, These sponsor packages include tickets to the event with prime seating for the show, some awards show memorabilia and varying levels of included promotion and marketing. Sponsorship information is available at: For questions or additional information visit or contact Bob Kieser at 309 267-4425 or by email at The complete List of 2009 Nominees are: Best Contemporary Blues Recording The Insomniacs - At Least I’m Not With YouJohn Nemeth - Love Me TonightNick Moss - Live at Chan’s Vol 2 Curtis Salgado - Clean GetawayJaniva Magness - What Love Will DoShemekia Copeland - Never going Back Best Traditional Blues Recording Various Artists - Chicago Blues: A Living History(w/Billy Boy Arnold, John Primer, Billy Branch and Lurrie Bell)Guy Davis - Sweetheart Like YouJohn Primer - All Original The Mannish Boys - Lowdown Feelin Shirley Johnson - Blues AttackB.B. King - One Kind Favor Best Blues Song Albert Castiglia - “Bad Year Blues” The Insomniacs - "At Least I'm Not With You" Chris James & Patrick Rynn - "Mr. Coffee" Curtis Salgado - "20 Years of B.B. King" Kenny Neal - "Let Life Flow" B.B. King - "See That My Grave is Kept Clean" Best Blues Band Nick Moss and The Flip TopsLil Ed And The Blues ImperialsKilborn Alley Blues BandThe Mannish BoysThe InsomniacsWatermelon Slim and The Workers Best Male Artist John PrimerBobby JonesLurrie BellNick MossJohn NemethElvin Bishop Best Female Artist Shirley JohnsonRobin RogersDiunna GreenleafShemekia CopelandEden BrentJaniva Magness Best New Artist Debut Recording Chris James & Patrick Rynn - Stop And Think About ItJoanne Shaw Taylor - White SugarDave Herrero - Austin To ChicagoCedric Burnside & Lightnin' Malcolm - 2 Man Wrecking Crew Guy King - Livin It Eden Brent - Mississippi Number One Sean Costello Rising Star Award Kilborn Alley Blues BandJoanne Shaw TaylorAlbert CastigliaDave GrossCedric Burnside & Lightnin' MalcolmEden Brent

No comments: